Life is… constantly reinventing yourself

I haven’t updated my blog for a long time. I’ve thought of it, but the time has passed by without action. You see, I found my career -that all consuming job that makes you feel alive and as though you’ve found your purpose. I had what I believed to be the best job in the world for the past six years.

I was a leader.

I was making a difference to children, families and my community.

I was developing my employees to ensure that they grow.

I was hardly seeing my own children, but I was growing and providing opportunities for other people’s children.

I was achieving results above and beyond expectations.

I was working 50+ hours per week plus most weekends.

I was burning out.

When I burnt out for the third time at the end of last year, I realized something needed to change. I missed my own children. My partner was keeping the house going and living with just a shell of a person (me). I was all consumed by the job and had let the job consume my life. I didn’t want to leave the relationships and connections that I’d made but I also realized I wasn’t being a good mother, partner, sister, daughter to those I loved. I’d become so career driven that work had become my only priority. It was a narrow, sad life.

I quit the job. It wasn’t easy but I’m learning to live with the heartache of losing those relationships, and with having a job rather than a career. I’ve gained so much more life – time with my own children, flexible working hours and WFH days, time with my partner and energy to help out around the house. It is uncomfortable to make such a drastic change and it has helped me to learn more about myself and what I want. I’m learning to take each day as it comes instead of having all consuming goals to drive me forwards.

After some reflection, I know that I want to write. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do since I discovered the love of language at age 5. I’ve always wanted to write a book. Now without a career, I have the energy, emotional bandwidth and time to do it.

Scrabble tiles spelling out the words "Why not now"
Photo by Brett Jordan on Pexels.com

Time to get to work!

Leave a comment